You are here

Am I in the wrong?

tobeamum's picture
Forums: 

I'm new to all of this. Both Parenting and step parenting I mean. I met my partner in July 2018. 6 weeks later I was stood on the door step of his ex wife (my request in respect of her) introducing myself so that she knew who her child would be spending time with. Typical he hates her she hates him, hes the worst, shes the worst stories which I was expecting to be honest. Im not going to lie, I see her side and his side equally. Im weirdly in agreement and not in agreement with them both. I have no animosity towards her, she just parents differently to my partner and I respect that. Anyway, I need help.....9 months later the anxiety I suffered for so long with and faught to control is back with avengance and I dont know what to do. 

When I first met my partners son, it went okay. We had fun and got on well, him being 4 just about to turn 5 at the time. At first, I threw myself into being a "good step mum" becasue I love his dad. I did his school uniform wash, would buy food to make sure what he liked was in the house (his Dad never had time to make it the shops because of work) and would do all the cooking, washing, tidying, etc so that my partner could have as much time as possible with his son while he had him. I did all this without a thank you and I was fine with that becasue at 5 not many kids will say thank you to a new person will they. Things where fine, he would go to bed in his own bed at night and i'd be happy only having quality time once he went to bed as we could have adult conversations without interuption. But then things changed.