You are here

New here and oh so frustrated!

Allison's picture

Hello everyone,

I'm grateful there's a place to vent and hopefully people can empathize. I'm usually a very sweet, kind, compassionate person. I'm a professional in a helping field. I love kids. Now, here's the "big but" I am having a horrible time accepting the behavior of my teenage step sons (15 & 17) and my husband. I've only been in the picture a little over two years (we were married this past June). BM is out of the picture so we have them all of the time. Some of my issues are:

1. They have the master bedroom because they have a lot of musical equipment (including drum kit) so we are in a tiny bedroom (the third bedroom is my husband's music studio)
2. They do and say anything they want (including going to a concert two hours away and staying at a friend's 25 year-old sister's house - but they're all just friends, so they say)
3. They don't do any chores
4. They're very rude to their father (calling him an idiot and stupid, for example)
5. The older son drives without his glasses and with friends in the car and lies about it
6. They often miss the toilet and pee ends up on the floor which they don't clean up
7. They have friends over all the time so I come home from work tired and there are loud teenagers everywhere EVERY DAY!