You are here

Skid doesn't want a step mum

elenamadley's picture

I'm not technically a step mum as I'm not married to my partner but one day it will happen. I'm also childless besides my puppy who I say is our child and my parents grandpuppy LOL

My partner's son who is 6 has expressed that he doesn't want me to be his step mum but every boyfriend that his mum has brought home (roughly 6-10 potential step dads in 7 years) he wants them to be his step dad. He even asked if his bio dad would still be his dad. Where is he getting this information? Is this coming from the BM or did he just come up with this?

I have never done anything wrong to this child. No disrespect. No hurting him. Nothing.

I understand he may never like me because of what his mum has said and that's okay. I'm with my partner because I love him and our relationship together. His kid doesn't ruin our relationship. His son usually never rubs me the wrong way I just disenage now. I greet him and say how are you but when I said he doesn't want me to be his step mum it actually hurt my feelings.

I'm a bit funny with children and maybe it wasn't the best idea to date someone with a child. Too late now. I'm shy with them and I speak to them like an adult. I don't say goo goo ga ga and talk to them like a baby.

I don't want to be considered his step mum. I would be happy for him to know me as daddy's girlfriend, just my name would be okay. I don't want him to think I'm replacing his mum. I don't want to be his mum he has one.

But it did hurt my feelings that he said no. I have never done anything wrong to him. I keep my distance and don't push myself on him. If he were to say hey do you want to play with me? I would say yes of course. He hasn't though and I'm not going to pressure him.

CastleJJ's picture

I wouldn't be giving a child opportunities to share their wishes on adult topics like relationships and marriage. Ultimately, he might get a stepmom, whether he wants one or not.