You are here

New to this...

FantaCat's picture

Hi - this is my first time posting and first time asking for advice, so bear with!!

I am in my first ever relationship with somebody with kids. My partner has a 4 year old son and things are still pretty bitter from his ex, and she really dislikes me. My partner and I have a really good relationship, we communicate well and have known each other for years. His son seems to like me and so far things have been going pretty well introducing me into his life slowly. 

I am genuinley not a jealous person however I have found that I get pangs of jealousy when I think about my partner and his ex, the life events they have shared together and the fact they've had a child together. Do these feelings get easier the further along the line the relationship gets?

I know that my partner no longer loves his ex  but I suppose I worry that I will always feel like I am in competition with her because she has given him the best and most important thing in his life - his son.

I sometimes feel that when ever me and my partner have little arguments or disagreements, my brain defaults to thinking that he must surely rather go back to putting up with her and seeing his son than stay with me and see him less if we argue too! I know this is silly because I know he is much happier with me generally and know that every couple is bound to argue. 

I suppose I'm just looking for some reassurance that these feelings are natural to experience as it's my first time being with someone who has to still be involved with their ex, and that they do get better and some advice on how to deal with the little pangs of jealousy please.

I just really want to get this right and be the best and most supportive partner I can be. 

JRI's picture