You are here

Introduction

LisaNinja's picture

Hi there- I am new and wanted to introduce myself.

I am glad I found this site. It helps on the days being a step mother sucks.

I have an almost 11year old SD, and am also a newlywed. I love my husband more than anything, and I was open at first about him having a daughter. It's been excruciatingly hard though. Dealing with her manipulative BM is for starters. BM has been married for several years now and will tell her now husband that my husband is her soul mate. Nice, right?

SD is nearly failing is school, has no manners, and my husband has never disciplined her. He says it is because he has guilt about SD, so we're actively working together to shape her into being a strong appreciative woman. She resents it though, and insists on material possessions to win the heart over of my husband. Sigh...

I'm just grateful i have someplace to come and vent.

invisable-to-SD's picture

I am new to Steptalk also...I have been in SD life for 7 years. my husband (her BD) and I tried therapy, and it worked while we were going, but once we stopped, she well. I guess has never stopped manipulating, but while we were in therapy he called her out on it. I cant do this anymore....i care about her, i want her to be happy and safe, but I seriously am not in her life and I live with her....I am tired of feeling hurt over her. I do love my husband though. I keep thinking after next year, after she graduates from high school things will be smoother. Thanks for introducing yourself! I am glad there is this place to vent. Its either vent here, be very unhappy, or yell at spouse.....i pick vent here.

darned confused's picture