You are here

Disengaging completely from SD15

HopeFalls's picture

I don't even know where to begin. A couple of weeks ago I was arrogant enough to think that we had this step parent thing beat (despite the writing being on the wall), arrogant enough to think that everyone else was wrong we were part of the percentage of step families who were succeeding that we'd raised smart, intelligent, moral and kind children. That all came crashing down when SD15 accidentally overdosed on prescription medication at her father's home. I was happy living in my bubble of delusion.

I am a lesbian step mother and my partner and I have been raising her children for the past 7 years, SS16 and SD15. Their father has only been a part of their parenting for the past three years and then only partially. My partner and him had a volatile often violent relationship, to which the children were witness. He is now married to a wonderful woman and that seems to have settled our relationship with him and we actually communicate well regarding the children, that is up until recently.