You are here

Need some help

WantToBeAGoodHusband's picture

First a little back ground; I am the BF of three teens, and husband to a wonderful Step-Mom. We have been married for 1.5 yrs and for the first couple months the kids lived with their BM, then after they visited for a summer, they ended up staying. Things were a little bit rough in the beginning but over time they have gotten a lot better. My bs12 and my bd16 even call her mom, and my bs14 tells her that he loves her quite regularly.

The issue comes down to discipline. My wife came from a very strict family, and believes strongly in being very firm. I had always been pretty easy going with the kids and I can see that my behavior led to them getting away with a lot of things; i.e. messy rooms, back talking, etc. I am still learning and I find myself deferring to my wife because she is great at coming up with creative punishments that are very effective with the kids. The problem is that any time I am not 100% on the kids she gets upset. I realize that I need to be consistent, and that the kids learn better with consistency, but if I make a mistake or miss something that happened then it's the end of the world and she starts talking about how she cant take it any more and even starts throwing around the D word. It seems like we cant go a week without some kind of complaint about what the kids did wrong and how I failed to discipline them correctly. Every argument ends with her saying that she would never leave because she loves us all too much, but she still throws that threat around at times.

I guess my biggest problem is that I feel like I am trying really hard but that I cant be on 100% of the time or that there are times when I decide to let the kids have a break every once in awhile, then she thinks that I am disrespecting her or putting her second.

Am I wrong is this? Any help would be really appreciated.

smdh's picture