You are here

I'm new to this..help...

SonderSchusler's picture
Forums: 

Hi everyone..

I am in need of some advice. I am not exactly a "step parent" as my boyfriend and i are not married but we definitely have it on the horizon. He has a 7 year old boy and I'm struggling. I personally have opted out of having my own children, i have other littles in my life who i love and adore but they are my neices and nephews who i definitely get more of a say in their parenting. 

His son is a good little guy, but there are major lack of rules and boundaries. His mother and my boyfriend have a very cival coparenting relationship at this point (thank god) but the under tones are always there. His mother doesnt have rules nor does she enforce any. She is the favorite parent by far and i know it breaks my boyfriends heart but this little boy has figured out the game early on. He refuses to respond when i speak to him, or if anyone besides his parents talk to him. He has no bedtime and is allowed to be on his video games non stop. I am really trying, this has been two years of trying but i feel like im not making any headway. I do my best to let my boyfriend and his BM do their parenting and i follow what theyve set. But "B" (my boyfriends son) will not do anything and is not made to do anything he doesnt want to.