You are here

I never thought I would be disengaging......

Stepmomfedup's picture
Forums: 

Married 8 years, dated almost 3 years.  When we met, I had 1 daughter (14 years old) and he had 3 boys (7, 8, 9) and 1 girl (5 years old).  I've grown to love his kids as my own.  I've never referred to them as my husband's children or my step children, there were MY KIDS.  There were challenges blending our family, so many good and bad experiences.  

Present day:  As the kids finished high school, it got harder.  The negative changes were surprising to me.  I've found that in the end, they do NOT need me, they've always needed their birth father and their birth mother.  So why tf did I stress myself out and put everything I had (blood, sweat, tears, time, love, money, etc) into them when in the end, I am just their step mom. 

I have been disengaging for the past 2 years.  I found new freedom and peace in my life.  I sometimes feel guilty because I never thought I would have to disconnect from my kids who NOW I refer to as my step kids (especially the 3 boys that decided to leave our home disruptly with disrespect and ungratefulness).

I have no regrets, I still love them but it is definitely a different kind of love than I felt before.  Is that wrong?  

tog redux's picture

What's wrong is that it took you 11 years to figure it out. Smile

Basically you did all the parenting grunt work for nothing. Of course kids will always prefer their bio parents. That's how nature intended it.

marblefawn's picture

I disengaged because I was continually hurt by SD. Every time I saw her, it was a 50-50 chance I'd come away feeling awful, then the fight with my husband always followed, making us feel awful. I'd imagine SD going on about her happy life while he and I were in a cold, painful war. I disengaged to stop feeling awful and stop the fights between my husband and me. It has worked pretty well, so how can I feel bad about disengaging?