You are here

Am I doing it right?

EvieLou's picture
Forums: 

I am new to disengaging and have only been doing it since Christmas really after I decided it was necessary for my sanity.  It is somewhat easier that SK doesn't live with us, but she is close by unfortunately.  I often feel jealous of those in the US, who have a lot of physical distance between them and their skids - like those who live in entirely different states - I would love that!  
I haven't communicated to my OH that I am disengaging, he would probably say "what's that all about?" etc.  I just don't mention them and if he does then I just reply "oh, yeah?" or something similar and then start talking about what to have for dinner or something.  I have said in the past that I don't need to know everything - I just expect him to discuss any big things with me like anything that affects us on a personal level or our finances etc.  
I do feel a bit mean sometimes, if I'm calling in to see a family member and he isn't coming or is at work whatever, he will always say "say hi to ***** for me" and later will ask if they're all ok etc.  I don't do that when he goes to see them because I don't want to open the door to hearing all the 'shizzle' - I can't disengage like that.  So I say nothing.  Last time he went round to see them, he came back and said nothing.  I mean, it is different because none of my family members cause any issue and have always been right with him so he would never have any reason to need to disengage from them.  
I am going to persevere with it because I can't see any other way forward really.  It's just about making it work for me I guess.  Does anyone else feel like they are being a bit unfair to the SO's?  Or do you just accept it is what it is.  

Wicked stepmo.'s picture

I do let So talk about SKs to me, I just personally don't feel any type of way about them or what he is going through with them. 

EvieLou's picture