You are here

ADHD Partner and ADHD Stepson it's messy

Cygnetflowers70's picture
Forums: 

Hi there, 

I'll try and make this short!

I've been with my partner for 9 years he is currently awaiting a ADHD assessment but has 100% got ADHD, I am a mental health professional so understand this very well, to the point I encouraged an assessment also for my 12 year old stepson years ago and he is officially diagnosed and on medication also.

In the years that we have been together we have lived together for 3 years all as a blended family, my bio son whos now 19 but was 10 when relationship started, my daughter who has severe special needs herself and stayed over on weekends and was 18 at the time , his oldest child daughter who was 8 at the time and his ADHD child son who was 3.

Parenting-

My partner has struggled immensely with parenting his son SS with ADHD, he allowed and allows very unhealthy parenting- no boundaries, no structure,.no verbal discipline when needed- when I ask about this to my ADHD partner he states I've got ADHD too so I know how hard it is and what I should and shouldn't discipline him for - saying this when I've been very firm with partner as I couldn't cope anymore (on multiple occasions over the years) he may try on one or two occasions to discuss with ADHD stepson and apply boundaries but that falls away after that single attempt and its quickly back to square one.