You are here

So new to having a stepchild

Tstar's picture

Hi- im brand new to all of this. 

I've been a basically single gal for 47 years.  Met a great guy and want to grow closer together. He has a 12 year old daughter that is a super great person I've been really excited to get to know more her more. She's super creative and interesting. 

My boyfriend & I have made the move to buy a house to live together. We chose a place about 10 min walk to his ex's house so his daughter can walk between our houses for shared parenting. 

We had to get a house with a very tiny yard to be able to afford the neighborhood. I've typliclly had a huge yard as gardening is my sanctuary. Its my place to be peaceful and zone out with nature.

We just finalized the house and brought her over to see it. She immediately decided she wanted a trampoline in the tiny back yard. My boyfrienf told her it was up to me. So she goes with the hard hit- can i have it, i really want it, etc etc

I dont want to say no to his kid but its tiny and will never be a peaceful growing space with a trampoline taking up half the yard.

I know there will be a huge adjustment for all of us in this house.  I also dont want to be the bag guy. And i dont want my head to explode with teenage exuberance when all I want is to escape to tend my herbs & veggies. 

This step-mom territory is so new for me! I want her to be comfortable at our home & I also want to not have to flee to have peace.

Thanks all for listening

CastleJJ's picture

How often is SD with you guys? Is there a way to compromise and accomodate both wants? Maybe a smaller trampoline? Maybe one of those in-ground trampolines so it's not such an eyesore and takes up less space.