You are here

Partner trying to stop my travel plans

Ottis's picture

Hi guys im new to this so bare with me...im with my partner nearly 6 years now. He has two boys 9 and 7 i have no children. My passion is climbing mountains and i plan to climb a big mountain in nepal next year....it is my dream...something i think about every single day... the trip is for three weeks. He has now decided that he wants to come to and that i will have to change my dates to suit him because of his kids. NO why the hell should i. I have no kids and this is why i have no kids because i want to be able to do these trips. I have my flight booked they cost me neary 900 euro and he is expecting me to loose them to suit him...also his ex wife will hit the roof if he thinks he is going away for three weeks ....i dont understand why he cant just let me go alone as he know this is my dream. Am i been selfish....im 36 im not to sure if i want kids so i dont want to leave this trip much longer just incase i do decide i do want them as i feel my clock is ticking.

hereiam's picture

Tell him, "No."

Tell him that your plans have already been made and you are going alone. Stand your ground or this will become a reoccurring theme, he will always expect your life and plans to revolve around him and his kids.

tog redux's picture

Are you going to try to climb Everest?!  That's really cool. And dangerous.

Just tell him - you want to go alone, and you are keeping the dates as planned.  Don't let him talk you out of it.

Ottis's picture

No not going to climb everest yet....its a mountain called island peak...but will be stopping at everest base camp on the way....o yea he also said if i go were finished 

hereiam's picture

Oh, so now he's giving you an ultimatum regarding plans you've already made? Because you won't change them to suit him? Wow.

TrueNorth77's picture