You are here

Between a Rock and a Hard Place (raw)

Kerrywho's picture

Hi there. 

(Yes I will reply and be super active on here)

This is my first time posting here but I've read a lot of threads and I can't tell you guys how much better I feel knowing I'm not the only person who with a doubt and with every fiber of my being, cannot stand my bf's son. My bf and I have been together for over a year and have lived together for 6 months. 

My bf and I are both in our 30's. I want my own child one day. But other kids? Yuckkkk! Can't stand other kids, especially my bf's 5 year old son. 

From what I've read on here a lot of you have step kids who are super misbehaved. My bf's kid isn't too bad but he's far from where he should be for a well behaved kid. Essentially, he's all sunshine and roses until we ask him to do something he doesn't want to do. Then it's temper tantrums, the pouty face that I was to smack right off his head (would never, just venting). The kid plays video games literally allllll day until bedtime. Eats junk for every meal. Candy every day. And has to do all that within 2 feet of my bf at all times. Literally. He can never be by himself for a little bit. He's always in our hair.

At his BM's house (where she lives mooching off her mom), he hits people, throws things, is verbally abusive and bites. He's very rough with their dogs too. But at our place he doesn't do any of that because my bf won't allow it and I think I've instilled a healthy level of fear/discipline/boundaries so he knows not to mess around with me there. Hell he even talks less than he did when I first moved in. When I first moved in he couldn't even take a breathe he talked so much. Not cool at all. He knows I like quiet so he's better at speaking for a more appropriate amount of time. And if he touched my cat? Well, I don't discriminate when it comes to protecting my cat.