You are here

NEED RESPECT!!!

Step-Mom's picture

I'm a new step-parent and my step-son, who is 7 seems to hate me most of the time! His father and I have been together for a year and a half and have lived together for about five months. We has his son every other week for a whole week. His son lacks total respect for adults especially my family and myself. I have no experience with blended families I grew up with my parents and two siblings and my parents are high school sweethearts. I really can't get advice from my family because no one has experience.

A few examples are;

his father works for my parents who own a trucking company and i have my nursing degree just am currently not working to baby sit for my sister who is a new working mom (i get paid) and stay home with the step son. He says things to me like your lazy get a job. stop taking my dads money. ect.

i will ask him to clean up his bedroom because like a typical 7 year old is a mini tornado and he says. your not my mom you cant tell me what to do and walks away. ignores me when i ask him to do things and always rolls his eyes at me.

i know if he were my son i would be doing time outs and talking on his level and other things. i'm not a yeller and i would never ever lay my hands on my own children let a lone one who is not mine. but i really try to do right by him and i am i love with his father and i have so much love for him but he will not let me into his life. there are tons of other things i could go on and on but that is the main of it and i need help. PLEASE ADVICE!!!!!

Step-Mom's picture