You are here

How to be comfortable with relationship between BF and BM

pgelewski's picture

Hey everyone, my names Paige and it's my first time on here so I'm pretty new to all this. I've been with my boyfriend for a bit over a year now and he has a 5 year-old daughter. I met his daughter and the child's mother recently and things went great. The only thing I've had a slight issue with is how close him and his BM still are. I absolutely love that they get along and co-parent so well, however things are to intertwined in my eyes. She calls him and tell him about her dates and new guys she's seeing, vents to him when she's upset, tells him everything about her personal life and oversteps her bounds when it comes to his life sometimes. Does anyone else deal with a situation like this or similar? I just find it weird and I've explained this to him but he just tells me that there still friends and he's not gonna be rude if she wants to vent, which I understand. 

Kes's picture

There's a difference between maintaining good relations with an ex with whom you share children, and being enmeshed to the degree that a future partner feels that there is insufficient room for them in the relationship, and starts to feel threatened, as you have done. Do you live together? If not, don't move in, is my advice.  He needs to develop better boundaries, and until he does, yours and his relationship can't progress. If you do live together, think seriously about whether he is ever going to be available to you in the way most partners need.  Most of us wouldn't be able to tolerate the situation you describe, nor is it reasonable for him to expect you to. 

JRI's picture