You are here

Stepkids blew up on my husband

Abby L's picture

This is my last post: http://www.steptalk.org/node/218768

To sum it up. My stepkids stopped calling me mom. I've been raising them since they were 8 months old and it was their choice to call me mom. We never forced it or anything. But then a couple of years ago they started calling me Abby and would refer to me as their stepmother. It was all very hurtful and very unexpected. We couldn't figure out what was going on. Then my husband and I heard from their mothers parents that they had found a diary the mother kept while she was pregnant. There were some surprising things in it, like the fact she knew she was going to die (there had been some complications, but the doctors and everyone else had been optimistic). She also expressed her fear of being replaced once she was gone as she knew he would remarry and that they would probably see the new wife as their mom. She said it broke her heart thinking about it.

If you're wondering how they got it. My husband gathered a lot of their mothers things and put them in a chest. He never really took the time to look at what he put in the and the diary ended up among the stuff. We knew nothing about it until all this came out.