You are here

Boyfriend's niece is an idiot

Ugh. Just ugh.'s picture

Hi, new here, but it looks like a great place to vent and get advice.

I've been dating my BF for 3 years now and we have a great relationship. The problem is his 17-year-old niece, whom he raises but does not have custody of. To put it bluntly, the girl is an idiot. She's completely unmotivated, no curiosity about anything, can't understand even the simplest things, can barely read, and has no interest in learning anything. I'm no expert, but I'd guess she's operating at a 10-year-old level and has at best a low normal IQ. 

She has no friends her own age and fully expects to be included in everything we do. This is a problem, since we like adult things like long drives to historical sites. She babbles constantly until she starts getting pouty at which time she starts literally whining. "I'm borrrrred! I'm hungryyyyy! I wanna eeeeeeat! This is stupiiiid! I'm tiiiiiired!" She's socially inadept and doesn't think anything of burping, breaking wind, or showing her buttcrack in public.

To my boyfriend's credit, he has stopped indulging her every shitfit and has started demanding that she start acting right. It doesn't seem to be helping much. 

I'd like to move in with him at some point, but she's pretty clearly not going anywhere and I can't live with her. To be fair, she's not a bad kid in general-no drugs, booze, sneaking out or any of the things I did when I was her age- but I'm having a hard time dealing with my constant irritation.

Any advice would be really appreciated!

Ugh. Just ugh.'s picture

Her mother is a headcase living with another headcase and her father is severely ill and crippled. My boyfriend's parents and her paternal grandmother shared custody. She was actually cared for by bf's parents until his mom died. Bf's dad us old and understandably not interested in raising a kid.

Winterglow's picture