You are here

Can/should I disengage?

DeeG's picture
Forums: 

This is my first time posting so please bear with me! I have two SS 7 and 9 and have been with DH two years (just got married). He has the kids everyother weekend. They have been coming to our house for 1 yr.

My breaking point came last weekend when I excused myself from the lunch table to go to the bathroom. SS9 followed me, and screamed through the door, "I want more goddamn grapes" and then kicked the door. He also kicked the elderly family dog and then threw a raging fit when I disciplined him for it. DH stepped in when he swore at me and sternly told him that he is not to speak to me ever like that, but then that was it. No consequences, no punishment, no follow through. SS9 is big for his age, (almost my height), and I am starting to feel afraid around him when he gets angry. The children are absolutely out of control, mostly SS9, but SS7 is starting to take his cues from older brother. They come every other weekend, trash our home, break things, scream swear words, throw raging fits, and generally keep us as hostages in our own home.