You are here

Struggling

itshardbeingastepmum's picture

I have never written on one of these before, however, I am, and have been struggling with our blended family for about 2 years now.  No end of arguments and disagreements over my husband's parenting with his son, my view is that we live in our house and why should everything change just because he has come to stay with us, we are on egg shells constantly because my husband and his ex-partner do not get on at all (bearing in mind it's been almost 9 years since they split up), it's a mix of his son going home and gossping and his Mum quizzing absolutely everything he has done whilst he has been with us. How much money hs been spent, who we have seen etc. I just feel I cannot be myself when he's around.  I have a daughter of my own, toddler age, it just complicates things because the way we both parent her is completely different, she has routine, structure, discapline, he comes from a household where this is not the case, my husband doesn't dare say anything to him in fear of upsetting him as his son is extremly sensitive. However, that being the case, I think he plays a lot on to get attention, as my feelings are different than my husbands toward his son, obviously, I feel I am the only one that can see through this act. I feel like this makes me sound like a really really horrible person. But I have always done my best to be a good figure in his life, when he has needed things for school and his Mother cannot be bothered to sort anything for him, I have made the effort to buy him things for school because I couldnt bare my own child not having what she needs. As a step parent it's just a constant slap in the face all the time, you are forgotten and disregarded but if you take a step back and dont pander to their every need, you're the selfish one.  I know my husband is in a rock and a hard place because he is caught in the middle and now I just choose to not really say anything because I dont want to argue ab