You are here

Step kids for the summer

Aaaa000's picture

My husband just announced he wants to start talking my 8 year old step son for three months out of the year  instead of 1.5 months plus a second visit two week visits for Christmas. I DREAD the trips my step children visit (one is leaving for the military this year). My work load DOUBLES, the youngest cries through every single dinner meal that he hates my cooking, and they play video games all day everyday. I hate this because I have a toddler and I don’t want him thinking that playing on an iPad or game consol that often is okay. My husband and I constantly fight because of the video games, food, and chores. I work full time, go to college online, and have two kids of my own and honestly I just go from busy to over whelemed when they are here. I am also a teacher so one of the those months he wants them to come is my summer vacation. That means I will be stuck home with them in my tiny house for part of the stay and I would be able to fly back to my home for my family reunion (my moms house is too tiny and there are no hotels near by) I don’t know how to overcome feeling this way. I feel terrible for hating the visits so much but I just feel like such a outsider when they visit and 3 months is a really long time. Who I to get in between his and father?

ndc's picture