You are here

Can you draw the line on sick kids?

jdsmom's picture

:sick:

My step-sons have been sent to our house over the course of the years with lice, ringworm (several times), impetigo (at least 3 times), various colds, fevers, flu, and now this week Whooping Cough. I have repeatedly requested that BM let us know ahead of time if the boys are sick with something contagious and explained that we do have a baby and that I have been fighting a long term illness for the past 4 years and my immune system is not very strong. If I know they are ill ahead of time, we can switch placement so they can stay with her till they are well or I will go and stay somewhere else with the baby if she'd rather they come here.

Most often, she plays dumb - like she didn't notice or thought it was something minor, but in the case of the most recent Whooping Cough, we stopped at a grocery on the way home with them and complete strangers were asking if they were choking or if they had Whooping Cough. The time before this, SS's elbow was bleeding when we picked him up so DH sent him in to get a Bandaid because he was bleeding on his shirt. BM told us a week later that she "just thought he had ringworm, but it turned out to be impetigo." Of course, seeing blood - we thought he had scraped his elbow, because of course any normal person would let the other parent know if the kid had either, right?!?!? They're both very contagious!

I don't know how to deal with this. Like I said, I have repeatedly asked for warning and that does not sink in I guess. Is this common? I am a BM as well and if DS is sick, I call his dad and we switch weekends - no big deal - why would you expose both households to it and why would you uproot a sick kid anyway? At what point is this negligence?

janeyc's picture