You are here

Blended family - Not enough Bedrooms

firefly25's picture

So happy I found this site! I am new to the NY area and have never felt so isolated in my life. I moved here pregnant with my Son (14)to live with my fiance. He has 3 children that we see every other weekend. I have a dilema that I don't know how to address. We are trying to find a rental home (which is not easy) until my home sells in another state. We have found a three bedroom (updated and takes pets) and my fiance stated the baby will be sharing our bedroom with us so his kids can have a bedroom. I don't agree with the baby not having her own bedroom when we only see the kids four days out of every month. While I agree that they should have a bedroom - I don't agree to putting the baby in our room. I suggested all the boys share a room and the girls in another. I must add that his daughter (11 yrs) has not touched, played or interacted with the baby (1yr) at all and barely whispers hello to me. I don't want to force the baby on her but I thought she may open up on her own with the baby when no one else was around by sharing a room.
Any thoughts?

Jsmom's picture

4 days out of the month doesn't require that much real estate. Why can't the baby move into your room during the 4 days. That will only work for awhile but, may work things out until you can sell your house and get a bigger place.

firefly25's picture

I like your suggestion - make sense to me. I doubt he will buy it but I will figure out how to approach this discussion.

Tmoore's picture

Kids that are only there for 4 days a month dont need a room, get them some sleeping bags.