You are here

New to all this

john_kain's picture

I just joined this website and I am very new to parenting in general. I am a 37 year old divorced male with no biological children. Last summer I met a great girl with two children who have recently moved in with me. The older one who is at home full time is great. Very respectful, helpful, gets good grades, and has many life questions for me. The younger one, who is 6 and is there part time, is awful. Doesn't listen, cries for absolutely no reason, and just makes things generally unbearable when she is there. I knew this was going to be an adjustment for me, but I am starting to hate being around the younger one. I think her dad lets her get away with murder. My girlfriend does discipline the younger child but it seems to have little to no impact. I am actually hoping she chooses to live her with dad once she is old enough to make that decision. Sorry for the venting, not sure where else to turn.

john_kain's picture

I do stay out of things. I am just very new to this and not sure what to do. They have been split for over 2 years. They share custody. He lives at home with his parents at age 40.

moeilijk's picture

It really doesn't matter what goes on when your SD is with her dad. Just like you behave differently out at a bar compared to at work compared to visiting your grandmother, so too can SD figure out what is expected and accepted in different situations.

If she's behaving badly, partly that's because it's working for her. Usually kids are motivated by parental attention - they'll do things for negative attention just as easily as positive attention unless the parents give zero attention for poor behaviour. Even explanations are negative attention, giving the kid what they want.