You are here

Step-Mom and School

TryingMyBest27's picture

I am fairly new to this SM thing, well I should say I'm fairly new to dealing with this BM thing. The BM has been in my SS life about as much as I have. We have majority custody of our SS and I always work on homework with him and am an active participant in his life (school, sports, responsibility and discipline). I went to conference with my DH and stayed quiet and minded my "role" and asked a question here and there, never ever trying to take the role as Mom. Following conference I was verbally harassed by BM in front of SS and 20+ People saying that this is parent/teacher conferences and that I was being disrespectful for being there and that I have no right to be there (even though I'm the one that does the most school work with him) and so on and so forth. I politely told her that this was neither the appropriate time or place to voice these opinions and she stormed off. Later only to send my DH message upon message about how she is going to call the school and make sure I have no contact with his teacher and that I am never to try to contact the teacher or the school for anything regarding "her" son (the entire rant was about "my son" never our son and about what she wanted not what was best for the son). So I guess my question is what do I do? What can I do? I want to volunteer in his classroom and go to conference and be apart of his education. Can she make it so I can't be? It is a free country so can't I talk to who I want when I want? I'm not asking to make any decisions about his education (I technically kind of already do because my DH and I are on the same page and discuss all decisions and make them as a team). So what can I do and what should I do with this situation. This is very new to me and I don't understand being hated for caring and being a good person. (Also I'm the only one in my DH's family that ever stands up for her. So I just don't understand how someone can treat someone with