Advice

Elle36's picture
Forums: 

The majority of you on this site have either went through a divorce or are married to someone who has been divorced and a child is involved. I am currently going through a divorce with a 5 month old. My husband does have a child from a previous marriage. What I need are tips to ensure he gets as little visitation as possible. I know that sounds horrible for me to want that right now…and yes all my other blogs have had people tell me I can’t keep this baby from her father….but right now he is not capable of taking care of her. For the entire three and a half years I have been married to this man I have been the sole caregiver to his son who is now 7 ½. I was the one to get him ready for school. Be there right after school. And spend my summers taking care of him since I am a teacher and was off. My husband could never give up anything in his life for someone else; financially and time wise. When this baby was born my husband NEVER and I am not lying got up with her in the middle of the night. He actually never heard her even when she was right next to him in a bassinet or when the baby monitor was all the way up in volume.

His temporary custody arrangement is only every other weekend from 9 to 6 with no overnight stays and every Wednesday from 5-8. During this arrangement since Dec 27th he has yet to pay me a dime, offer money to me for her needs or daycare, or even pay his share of bills he left me with. He is dodging any financial proposal that my lawyer is sending. I even had a no contact order against him for one week and he broke that 4 times and spent a week in jail for contempt of court. Every time he has come to the house to pick her up he has had some other man with him for a witness. I have now refused this other man to step into the house. Husband will not come into the house now to get daughter. He stands outside in zero weather and hands me her car seat.