You are here

Was DH out of line…Feeling very uncomfortable am I overreacting

Disneylover2000's picture

PLEASE READ ALL...DH and I have been talking about moving down south for about 3 years. Well the time is finally right and we will be moving in a year or so. 

So here is what made me SUPER Uncomfortable. I was talking to DH on my lunch break as I always do. I Casually mentioned how I just found out I have 400,000 in my retirement plan at work. DH Immediately said " good we can use that to buy the house down south". I was totally taken back as we NEVER talked about buying a house before selling ours OR using my retirement money to put money down on the new house. I told DH I really don't want to borrow from my retirement plan.  DH said all his money is tired up in our house so it should be me since I have money in my retirement plan. I then said why can't we sell our house first and use that money to buy a new house. DH said then he would have to pay to shore his stuff and he does not want to do that. I asked DH if he could borrow from his retirement and he said I make more money than him AND he put the down payment on the house we are living in now so it should be me. I could tell by DH tone he was Irritated/pissed I was giving him a hard time and not agreeing right off the bat. 

Was DH out of line? Honest answers please 

If it was just DH and I maybe I would not feel this way BUT SS is moving with us. SS is spoiled ROTTEN and I can see DH wanting to take a Mortgage out to pay for some Ivy League college for SS. 

notsurehowtodeal's picture

Do not do it. People sell their houses and use the money to buy new ones all the time. You can time things so nothing needs to be put in storage. If he won't listen to you, contact a financial advisor to back you up.

notarelative's picture