You are here

Undermining and disrespecting me in front of his daughter

Tessa LeAnn's picture

It's been happening off and in for a few years, but lately my bf and I have been having lots of added stress (the pandemic in general, financial worries, and, I've been battling a health issue for the past several months which has made me have to spend a lot of time in bed).  These extra stressors have taken a toll on our relationship.  Although he has picked up a lot of my slack, I feel he harbors resentment.  One of the ways he's expressing it is that the undermining of me (not only to my face, but to his daughter [SD11]) has increased two-fold lately.

He will frequently belittle or act apathetic about my ideas in front of her, try to discredit things I say, criticize my parenting (of my own son, DS6) in front of her, and even reverse decisions I've made (like when I tell DS or SD "no" to something, he'll immediately say "yes," and make some remark about how I was wrong/incompetent to say "no"). SD11 has also "tattled" on me to her dad about things said (always w gaping omissions, I've noticed) and he will tell her "I don't agree with Tessa," or "Tessa doesn't understand what a terrible idea that was." The walls are thin here in our small house, and I've overheard these comments with my own ears.