You are here

Oof, It's been awhile since I've posted here

juststressedbeyondbelief's picture

I don't know what triggered the memory of the board, but I figured it would be nice to let it out a bit, and give an update.

If you're unfamilliar, I was a bad spot with my wife, to the point where I finally just bit the bullet and filed for divorce. I have two children with her, and she has one from a previous relationship. I'm a teacher, and she works very long hours elsewhere. I am the primary caregiver for our shared children, so back then - I was done - ready and willing to start the court battle for custody. I filed for divorce, and it changed a whole lot.

I never really liked her child. To be honest, the kid was never given structure, and any kind of critique/suggestion was immediately shot down, and "HOW DARE YOU" was given. Violence to animals/violence to her mother/screaming to the point of vomit was common. The kid is 7 now? The kid was/is baaaaad. When my kids came along, I couldn't live with the fact that this little monster was going to influence them during their development - so I decided to call it quits, at least then it could only happen every other weekend.

Upon filing for divorce, I got the regular run-around - the "I hate you's, you're going to regret this/etc." I gave no ultimatum for revoking the divorce order, but she did talk me into an intermediate time to try for our shared children.