You are here

Lie-abetes!

MIMzies's picture

Hello all. I’m new to steptalk and stepparenting. DH & ex have been divorced almost 3 yrs. When they separated, SHTF! She made allegations of domestic abuse, engaged in alienation, and has really made effort to play any/all systems to ruin DHs life (including a solid military career). DH definitely had a hand in the marriage ending, but nothing on the level she took it. Now, seemingly, all that is over and in the past. Unfortunately, DH is still dealing with the repercussions of that whole dramafest in the relationship (or lack thereof) with his child. As if that isn’t enough, she constantly lies to us about various things.

She sends these long texts about how we all need to coparent, be on the same page, and (her fav phrase) move forward. DH and I truly want to have a healthy coparenting relationship with her/her SO, but her constant lies have put a block in the road. We are both laid back & understanding, but this is ridiculous. When I’ve caught her in lies, I’ve tried to question things in a way to give her the benefit of the doubt. She’ll completely ignore my inquiry and avoid anymore conversation about it. I can understand white lies, or even lies to protect something...but she tells some pretty bold face ones. A couple examples: That she has a bachelor’s degree, not true. She asked DH to help pay for a prescription ($220) for their son—saying his pediatrician wrote it in her name so she could bill it on her insurance for a medication that isn’t even prescribed for kids. DH changed jobs, and was in the waiting period for insurance. She also lies about the actual costs of stuff. It’s constant and I can’t work with someone who is so deceptive! I told DH that for us to make any progress with coparenting, he has to confront her with the lies.