You are here

Financial contributions to partners children.. is it a girlfriends duty??

ColdFeet's picture

Hi guys,

First off I’m a newbie so forgive me if I’m repeating a topic previously discussed! Today I google searched a question regarding surviving as a step parent which lead me here & thought i’d pose my questions/concerns here to women who understand & give realistic advise/opinions Smile Smile

So I’ve been dating my guy for almost a year and he has two kids from two different women, I don’t have any atm. Both children live with their mothers. We don’t live together and no plans to just yet.

So my dilemma starts around his second baby mother, she is sour as hell!! They were never actually in a relationship and she got pregnant on purpose (I won’t put details out on here but its unfortunately true). She has demonstrated she has no respect for any relationship he has or had.

Anyway my partners 2nd baby mother is asking him for more financial support to what they previously agreed. I believe this is out of spite because he’s in a happy relationship and we recently went away together. So he has explained to her that it’s hard for him atm to increase and compromised to meet her halfway. She has then brought my name into the convo demanding that if I’m a so-called good woman he should ask me for the money to pay for his half of the childs nursery fees and that if I’m a decent woman I will give it to him. She also thinks that I’m (or any other woman) is of no use if they are not helping in financial struggles with his child.

He has never asked me to contribute and he feels it’s a subject I have nothing to do with, I agree.

I just want to know as a girlfriend do you think that you should be financially supporting your partners child when both the mother and father are healthy AND working??
Have you ever contributed to things such as childcare for your partners child?