You are here

Double standards

Rosiiie's picture

Hi everyone

Newbie here, just have nowhere to turn in real life. I don’t want to talk to my parents about this and none of my friends are step-parents.

DP and I have been together for 2 years. He’s got 2 daughters from a previous relationship (8&11). 

Everything was fab at the beginning. I met them maybe 4 months in and I thought they were great and we’ve always had them every second weekend so we slowly got to know each other. 

Now here’s where it gets a bit tricky. I have a 5 year old son and he met his girls when we’d been dating for 7 months. Again, everything was fine at the beginning. I guess the kids were a bit shy/getting used to each other and so everything was very chill. 

Up until 3 months ago when DP and I started arguing weekly about the kids. He has this double standard thing where he’s always telling my kid off but his kids can do no wrong? I have zero authority over his girls so if I catch them doing something naughty or mean I don’t usually tell them off (I know that’s probably my bad and I need to put on my big girl pants). 

Just a few examples of what happened this past weekend:

my son needed to go to the bathroom but was wearing a costume so asked me if I could undo his back buttons. When he started walking to the bathroom, the 11 yr old ran past him and pushed him out of the way and locked herself in the bathroom. Obviously my 5 yr old got upset and DP just tells him off for crying and tells him to go to another toilet

There is a rule of no eating in bedrooms. We’d had pizza the night before. I went upstairs to tidy the girls’ room and found the pizza box on the bed with crusts on the shelves. I call DP in and ask him to tell his kids off. The girls come in and say ‘oh we ate upstairs because he (DS) told us to’. I saw the 8 yr old take the box out of the fridge but ok… blame it on my 5 yr old who has never broken the eating upstairs rule.