You are here

BM is planning to move away with SSs

sametimedif's picture

This is my first time posting on this forum, but I have been a reader for some time now.  I am a SM for two SSs that are 7 and 11.  The kids previously lived 10 hours away until I agreed to move with my bf over two years ago so that he could be closer to them.  This was not an easy move, but I knew it was best for the kids and my bf. Now, we have them every weekend and any holidays or breaks as well.  This weekend was business as usual when the eldest mentioned his mom was planning to move them out of state.  Apparently, her job is in "jeopardy" again, and she wants to go back to where she lived years ago before the divorce. You can imagine the initial reaction, and I have to say that my feelings haven't changed much since either. To top it all off, we found out that BM and her new husband have had the "sniffles and fever" for over a week now, and SS was sent home from school last week due to an episode of vomiting and supposed fever. Normally, this wouldn't be much cause for concern, but they live in one of the first affected areas for COVID 19 , and the kids were spouting off all kinds of misinformation last weekend about not being able to catch the virus and that it doesn't affect kids.   This is pretty standard for their BM as she has little to no understanding or regard for medicine or her children's health. When SS was sent home, BM told him not to tell anyone he was sick. SS pleaded with us to not address it with BM stating he worried he would end up in trouble for telling us. As it turns out, BM did in fact instruct her kids to lie about illness in an effort to avoid harassment. She's a real peach, that one. As an aside... this is SS's m.o. He oftentimes plays both sides of the fence and thinks he is a master of reverse psychology, but I digress...  Both parents have joint legal and physical custody.  BM is the primary custodial as they spend the weekdays with her. About a year ago, s